Strobe Lights.

The only place I saw them 35 years ago was at a party or concert.

Then I saw them showing up on emergency vehicles such as police, fire, ambulance or tow trucks.

Then I saw them showing up on utility vehicles such as water, electricity, gas and so on.

Now I have to be subjected to them by bicyclists!

 

Enough already damnit!

 

Damn bicyclists are the worst offenders with out question. These jackasses feel the need to have a headlight that is a strobe. To make matters worse they aim them right in the eyes of opposing traffic. Now if you did that in a car eventually some cop would pull you over for hitting him/her with the high beams. Not bicyclists oh no. Since this is Bike Town USA it would be in poor taste to give a ticket or at the very least a warning.

 

I and others in the world with epilepsy have a problem with this. Ya see, strobe lights can send some people with epilepsy into a seizure. I am not sure if my seizures are brought on by strobes and have to avert my gaze in the presence of one.

 

The reason people use the strobe setting instead of steady light is to extend the life of the batteries by up 6X. They also say it is the green thing to do because it decreases the number of batteries going to our landfill.

Wowsers….. They saved our collective asses with that sacrifice.

Oh hey, can you smell that?

Thats dripping sarcasm.

 

How about this instead,

:dramatic pause:

USE RECHARABLE BATTERIES NUMNUTZ!!

 

Because of these people there is no place where I am not subjected to strobe lights.

 

Now let’s talk about emergency vehicles. Can somebody explain the wisdom of placing these lights on a vehicle that is supposed to be there to help me in the event of a seizure. Are they drumming up business for the hospitals they serve? Was there a problem with the older rotator lights that were used in the past?

 

Please pardon me if this new trend pisses me off.

 

As usual, if this makes me a bad person so be it.

Pdxurbanoutdoorsman.

3 thoughts on “Strobe Lights.

  1. Its been so long since i have seen a post by you appear in my email i was beginning to assume you had finally had an aneurism from the sheer stupid your subjugated to in that lovely burg known as portland. I agree with you about the strobe thing. IT turns out that if a cyclist does endanger a person like yourself portland has a thing called a z-cite. Given that it can literally possibly cause you to seize and possibly flop out into traffic you are within you bound to issue one of these things. though that entails court time as well on your part if its to go anywhere. Just a thought from a fellow scathing sarcast. (./_^)

    1. Well well, if it aint the emerald eyed Scot!

      Luck for the human race an aneurism can not be created or triggered by the stupidity of others. If that were the case we would be long extinct.

      1. Oh no. Its emerald eyed german actually. The scot is still in PDX im actually back home in austin i just havent augmented my handle yet. (.//_^) True enough. I think i would have had one by now myself were that the case. LOL

Leave a comment